Waterford World’s Fair
July 20 - July 22
Begun in 1850 as Tom Green Fair, because it was held on Tom Green’s land next to Route 35 in North Waterford, the fair featured oxen pulls on the public street in front of Tut’s General Store (now Melby’s Market and Eatery on Route 35).
Records indicate that it became known as the World’s Fair around 1928, when an agricultural society was formed and the fair was moved to the current North Waterford fairgrounds. The land was purchased around 1990.
Today it continues as an agricultural showcase for small-town tradition and showcasing time-honored events such as an antique tractor pull, draft horse show, strawberry and apple pie contest, cow chip bingo, pig scramble, a 4-H working steer contest and more.